About the theater

 

St. Petersburg Tchaikovsky Ballet Theatre 

Was founded in 2012 by a professional musician of the Mariinsky theatre orchestra and the orchestra of St. Petersburg State Philharmonics Pavel Elkin.

For the position of the Artistic Director the graduate of the Vaganova Academy of Russian ballet, awarded with the medal “For achievements in culture” by the Minister of Culture of the Russian Federation Mikhail Shvydkoi, choreographer Elizabeth Menshikova was invited.
Today the St. Petersburg Tchaikovsky Ballet Theatre is one of the leading companies of classical ballet, which repertoire includes such masterpieces of the world choreography as “Swan lake”, “Nutcracker”, “Romeo and Juliet” by Tchaikovsky, “Coppelia” by L. Delibes.


Each year the ballet gives, on average, 150-200 performances, performing at such famous venues in St. Petersburg as Alexandrinsky theatre, The Hermitage theatre, the Opera and ballet Theatre of the St. Petersburg Conservatory, and tour intensively abroad: in Sweden, Germany, Norway.
The troupe consists of 53 professional artists, among them there are graduates of the world famous Vaganova Academy of Russian ballet and major Russian ballet schools.
The main professional journals on ballet such as “Ballet”, “Arts”, “Window to the ballet” and others, by posting on their pages reviews from professional critics, in particular, noted:
“They have a unity of style and elegance, which introduces the special “St. Petersburg style”;
“… essentially, a young and energetic company, obviously, taught in the best Russian traditions, where not only soloists show high level, but the corps de ballet are of the highest class … “.


The ballet group could be called one of the most successful young ballet companies in St. Petersburg, with huge potential, which allows it not only to set ambitious goals, but consistently to achieve them in the shortest possible time.
Currently, Saint-Petersburg Tchaikovsky Ballet Theatre staged a unique performance of “Romeo and Juliet” with music by P. I. Tchaikovsky, which includes such famous pieces as Symphony No. 6, Suite No 3, Italian Capriccio, Concerto for violin and orchestra in g minor, Overture “Romeo and Juliet”.
This performance attracted attention of filmmakers, making a feature film about ballet, financed by the First Channel, the main state TV channel in Russia, and, at present, the St. Petersburg Tchaikovsky Ballet Theatre is taking part in this production.

О театре

 

Санкт-Петербургский Театр Балета имени П. И. Чайковского был основан в 2012 году профессиональным музыкантом оркестра Мариинского театра и оркестра Государственной академической филармонии Санкт-Петербурга Павлом Елкиным.

На должность художественного руководителя театра была приглашена выпускница академии русского балета им. А.Я. Вагановой, обладательница медали «За достижения в культуре», врученной министром Культуры РФ М.Е. Швыдким, хореограф-балетмейстер Елизавета Меньшикова.

 

На сегодняшний день Санкт-Петербургский Театр Балета имени П.И. Чайковского является одной из ведущих трупп классического балета, репертуар которой включает в себя такие шедевры мировой хореографии, как «Лебединое озеро», «Щелкунчик», «Ромео и Джульетта» П. И. Чайковского, «Коппелия» Л. Делиба.
Ежегодно балет дает, в среднем, 150-200 спектаклей, выступая на таких прославленных площадках Санкт-Петербурга, как Александринский театр, Эрмитажный театр, Театр оперы и балета Санкт-Петербургской консерватории, а также интенсивно гастролирует за рубежом: в Швеции, Германии, Норвегии.
В труппе, состоящей из 53 профессиональных артистов, есть выпускники всемирно известной Академии русского балета им. А. Я. Вагановой и крупных российских балетных школ.
Авторитетные издания, такие как «Балет», «Искусство», «Окно в балет» и др., размещая на своих страницах отзывы профессиональных критиков о спектаклях театра, в частности, отмечают:
«Они имеют единство стиля и изящества исполнения, которые говорят об особенном “Санкт-Петербургском стиле»;

«… по существу, молодая и энергичная компания, очевидно, наученная в лучших русских традициях, в которой не только солисты показывают высокий уровень, но и кордебалет — высший класс … «.
Творческий коллектив балета может претендовать на звание одной из самых успешных молодых балетных трупп в Санкт-Петербурге, с огромным потенциалом, который позволяет ей не только ставить амбициозные цели, но последовательно добиваться их в кратчайшие сроки.

 

В настоящее время Санкт-Петербургский Театр балета им. П.И. Чайковского осуществил постановку уникального спектакля “Ромео и Джульетта” на музыку П.И. Чайковского, в которую вошли такие знаменитые произведения как Симфония №6, Сюита №3, Итальянское каприччио, Концерт для скрипки с оркестром соль минор, Увертюра “Ромео и Джульетта”.